Academic Programmes » ACI Scholarships

Eligible candidates are invited to apply for scholarships to pursue MA, MTh or PhD Studies at ACI. The procedure for application for a scholarship is as follows:

i. Fill and submit, with all relevant documents, an application form for one of the ACI degree programmes (visit the home page).

ii. On the academic application form indicate the desire to apply for a scholarship.

iii. ACI will notify applicants who qualify for a programme of their eligibility for a scholarship and then forward the scholarship application forms to them.

iv. The applicant returns these documents to ACI for processing.

v. ACI will then inform the successful applicants of the award of the scholarship.

Scholarship Qualifications

Candidates for a scholarship must have been awarded an undergraduate degree from a recognised and accredited University. They must be between 21 and 50 years of age and supply evidence of leadership credentials in the church and community as evidenced in their application form and the content of a minimum of three references. Details for reference will be provided on application.

Scholarship Conditions

Applicants awarded scholarships will agree in writing to returning to the region from which they came and serving as a Christian leader in the church and/or community for a specified minimum period after receipt of the degree. Failure to honour the agreement will mean the scholarship is treated as a loan repayable within a specified period.

The scholarship may cover some or all of the following items: tuition, meals, accommodation, some personal expenses, travel to and from the institution (one trip per annum), books and research. All amounts are guided by the prevailing rates of the institution and current rates of travel.

Only one each will be selected from each of the six regions indicated below:

North Africa: Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Western Sahara, Mauritania, Mali, Niger, Chad, Sudan (north).

West Africa (not Ghana): Senegal, Sierra Leone, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Ivory Coast, Togo, Benin, Nigeria, Burkina Faso.

Central Africa: Cameroon, Sao Tome, C African Rep., DR Congo, Congo Brazzaville, Angola, Cabinda, Zambia, Gabon.

East Africa: South Sudan, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Somalia, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zanzibar, Burundi.

Southern Africa: Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Botswana, South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion Island.